Life And Blessings

When I first started this blog site, I knew I wanted to get into writing. All throughout school I had always been told how good of a writer I was, but I never really thought much of it. We never take too seriously what positive things other people tell us, do we? With my blog up and running, I knew what that I wanted to write about topics that people wanted to read about, so, the idea the blog would be based on would be life, family, health and happiness.

If you search through Google, you’ll see a lot of the postings have to do with the things that people care most about. Life, happiness and love are some of the higher ranking keywords. These are topics that are at the top of every person’s list. When it comes to life, you can’t doubt there is a spiritual part of it, in fact, that part is a big part! There is a difference in the spiritual and religion, so let’s not confuse the two. Of course, there are those who may say they are not into the the spiritual belief, however it doesn’t matter if they are or not. As Rob Bell once said, “You cannot deny what is central to your makeup as a human being.”

We have all been blessed in one way or another and in multiple ways. We have homes, jobs, cars, family, friends, clothes to wear and food to eat. Think about it, have you ever been without food? Haven’t your needs always been met? Haven’t you always been sheltered and clothed? In my opinion, the best way to show your appreciation for the blessings you have is to bless someone else. What is the point of being blessed in life if we don’t give them to others to enjoy? We are all in this together.

I was walking with my sister a couple weeks ago on the sidewalk between the road to my right and a long stretch of stores and restaurants to my left. Suddenly, a old man black male with very few teeth approached us. My sister continued walking because I suppose she knew what he was going to say. The old gentleman looked at me and said, “Listen, I know how annoying it is to have a stranger come up to you and start talking, but hear me out. I’ve been laid off for a while. I keep bouncing from one job to another and nothing is working out.” He then steps back and continues, “I’m going to step back, because I don’t want you to think I’m trying to mug you. Just please, I’m hungry. Is there anything you can give?” My sister was gesturing me to follow her and leave the man, but my heart went out to him. Without hesitation, I pulled out $20 and gave it to him. Shocked and overwhelmed with humility, he gives me a hug and continues to thank me over and over.

Now, I’ve heard two types of responses from people when I tell this story. One response is praise for being so kind. The other response I get questions my actions and judgment. I have heard, “Are you serious? What if he just takes the money and buys alcohol or drugs?” It’s absolutely none of my business what this gentleman does with money I give him. All I can do is what I can control. I gave him a resource. I did my part in being a blessing to this man. If he was lying, what goes around comes around and justice is always served at some point in time. I don’t think about that. I think, “Here is my chance to serve someone today and make an impact in their life.” It reflects on my life motto: “The whole reason of being blessed is to bless others in life.”

Leave a Reply

