Birds of A Feather Flock Together

There’s an old saying that goes, “Birds of a feather flock together.” This saying is basically meaning that you are who you choose to associate with. Thinking back to where I was years ago, I’m surprised and thankful for where I am now. We have all been there, haven’t we? Maybe you’ve been in the presence of bad company or perhaps you still are.

One of my favorite quotes I heard from a respectable businessman is that your income with be the average of the top 5 people you hang out with most. When I was first starting out in life, my income from my minimal wage job was 116 a month. My friends weren’t exactly the best people to look up to for advice in advancing forward through life and I was the only one working out of the 3 of us. You know what happened next? You guessed it—I surrounded myself with losers with no aim or direction in life and they sponged off me. I paid for the gas and the food. It was very soon that I noticed I was becoming just like them…Broke!

When I met my husband, I learned there is more power in who we associate ourselves with we might think. The people you surround yourself with molds your beliefs, morals, standards, perspective on life and as we have learned recently, even your money. How did I fix this? The answer is very simple: Dana Sibilsky had to pull the plug. That was the plug that connected me to a lot of people that I learned were not good for my future. I had to learn I have a life to live and if you’re not going forward with me, you will be left behind. I had to stop living to please people.

Now, let me clarify. I’m not saying stop caring for people. Absolutely not! I’m saying through time, you’ll learn which people can be helped and which people will sponge off the blessings you give them. Those who make an effort are those who want to better themselves. You might want to keep these people around.

Leave a Reply

